North Central Massachusetts Chamber of Commerce to Host Legislative and Candidates Reception

Premier networking event connects elected officials with community leaders

 The North Central Massachusetts Chamber of Commerce will host its Legislative and Candidates Reception on September 20, 2018 from 5 p.m. – 7 p.m. at the Chocksett Inn on 59 Laurelwood Road in Sterling, MA. The event is intended to offer the region with an upscale networking event that connects business and community leaders with the region’s elected officials, as well as those seeking public office.

“This is a great opportunity for our business and community leaders, as well as our public officials to gather for an evening of networking and collegial discussion,” said Roy Nascimento, President and CEO of the North Central Massachusetts Chamber of Commerce. “We look forward to joining our legislators at a unique venue like the Chocksett Inn.”

The Legislative and Candidates Reception is one of the Chamber’s premier events of the season, with over 125 federal, state, and local elected officials invited. Mount Wachusett Community College is the premier sponsor for the event. “At Mount Wachusett Community College, we understand the importance of engaging with the region’s business and legislative communities. These connections and insights help guide the college in various areas such as programming and outreach,” said MWCC President James Vander Hooven. “It is vital for our region’s business leaders, legislators, and policy-makers to meet and network so that they can engage and learn from each other. I am happy to support this important event.”

“Gaining access to legislators and those who seek public office is just as important for small business owners as it is for CEOs in the region,” said Ken Gurge, Esq., Chamber Board Member and Chair of the Government Affairs Committee. “This will be a tremendous opportunity for anyone with passion for North Central Massachusetts.”

Government affairs and public policy advocacy is a key component to the Chamber’s efforts to promote a healthy and active business climate throughout the region. Recognizing that the business community and legislators are partners in economic vitality and growth, events like these align well with the Chamber’s mission.

The event will feature an open bar and gourmet appetizers and hors d’oeuvres. Cost for members is $20 and non-members is $30. Registration is available online at Please contact the Chamber at 978.353.7600 or for more details.


As of September 5th, the following legislators and candidates have confirmed their attendance:

Confirmed legislators:

  • Congressman McGovern, 2nd Massachusetts Congressional District
  • Auditor Suzanne Bump
  • Senator Jamie Eldridge, Middlesex and Worcester District
  • Senator Dean Tran, Worcester and Middlesex District
  • Representative Donald Berthiaume, 5th Worcester District
  • Representative Kim Ferguson, 1st Worcester District
  • Representative Sheila Harrington, 1st Middlesex District
  • Representative Stephan Hay, 3rd Worcester District
  • Representative Natalie Higgins, 4th Worcester District
  • Representative Harold Naughton, 12th Worcester District
  • Representative Susannah Whipps, 2nd Franklin District
  • District Attorney Joseph D. Early, Worcester County
  • Sheriff Lewis Evangelidis, Worcester County
  • Mayor DiNatale, City of Fitchburg
  • Mayor Dean Mazzarella, City of Leominster
  • Councilor Marcus DiNatale, City of Fitchburg
  • Councilor Thomas E. Donnelly, City of Fitchburg
  • Councilor Marisa Fleming, City of Fitchburg
  • Councilor Michael Kushmerek, City of Fitchburg
  • Councilor Samantha Squalia, City of Fitchburg
  • Councilor Elizabeth Walsh, City of Fitchburg
  • Councilor Anthony Zarella, City of Fitchburg
  • Councilor Thomas Ardinger, City of Leominster
  • Councilor Susan Chalifoux-Zephir, City of Leominster – Candidate for Senate, Worcester/Middlesex District
  • Councilor Pauline Cormier, City of Leominster
  • Councilor Claire Freda, City of Leominster
  • Selectwoman Rosemarie Meissner, Town of Ashburnham
  • Selectman Walter Sandrowski, Town of Lancaster
  • Selectman Jamie Toale, Town of Lunenburg
  • Town Manager Heather Lemieux, Town of Lunenburg
  • Selectman Richard Bisk, Town of Princeton
  • Town Administrator Nina Nazarian, Town of Princeton
  • Selectman John Kilcoyne, Town of Sterling
  • Selectman Wayne Walker, Town of Westminster
  • Selectman James DesLisle, Town of Westminster

Confirmed Candidates:

  • Tracy Lavvorn, Candidate for Congress, 2nd Massachusetts District
  • Blake Rubin, Candidate for District Attorney, Worcester County
  • Margaret Busse, Candidate for State Senator, Middlesex/Worcester District
  • Elmer Eubanks-Archbold, Candidate for State Representative, 3rd Worcester District
  • Richard Palmieri, Candidate for State Representative, 4th Worcester District